Beta Upsilon Nashville, Tennessee Founded 1981

History of Beta Upsilon Chapter

On November 14, 1981, the Beta Upsilon Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma was installed at the Hermitage Hotel, where TN State (formerly Xi State) was founded on November 30, 1935. There were 29 charter members. Margaret Hopper, TN State Expansion Chairman, presided over the installation ceremony. Also present were TN State President Liz Whorley and three TN State Founders – Mary Hall, Nell Parkinson, and Maycie Southall. After the installation, Beta Upsilon initiated 12 new members.

Beta Upsilon is located in Davidson County, Tennessee

Beta Upsilon Charter Members

LaVelle Boyd, Alene Harris, Mary Ayleene Bryan*, Nancy Hazelwood, Betty Cannon Leona Head, Frances Casey, Bella Higdon, Roxie Cassidy*, Margaret Hodges*, Ruth Chambliss*, Katherine Jamison, Bertha Cheatham*, Brenda Jernigan, Winn Crook*, Mildred Knight, Jane Dugger, Shirley Leebern, Mary Lou Ennis*, Vickie Mantle, Aliene Fann, Rob McGee*, Emily Florida*, Ramona Shaw, Barbara Frazier, Nancy Snapp*, Trudy Gardner, Nancy Wright Mary Granstaff* *Deceased

Beta Upsilon Past Chapter Presidents and Biennium

Mary Granstaff* 1981-1984, Jane Dugger 1984-1986, Margaret Hodges* 1986-1988 Nila Sherrill* 1988-1990, Pam Bucy* 1990-1992, Kathleen Phillips 1992-1994 Teresa Dennis 1994-1996, Donna Hooper 1996-1998, Beverly Smith 1998-2000 Fran Young 2000-2002, Carlene Ford 2002-2004, Kathie Harned 2004-2006 Sandy Hull* 2006-2008, Kathy Fasig 2008-2010, Marsha Brewer 2010-2012 Beth Petty 2012-2014, Kathleen Phillips 2014-2016, Brenda Oldham 2016-2018 Barbara Broadway 2018-2020, Pat Parker 2020-2022, Rebecca Pearson 2022-2024

Scholarship/Grant Recipients

Dr. Kathie Harned
Pat Parker
Bethany Billingsley (State and International)

TNSO Achievement Award

Dr. Kathie Harned - Parliamentarian

Mary Aylene Bryant

Beta Upsilon Members Currently Serving TN State Organization

Marsha Brewer TN State First Vice President, Educational Excellence Committee (Chair)

Carole Belles Educational Excellence Committee

Bethany Billingsley Membership

Barbara Broadway Awards Committee

Carlene Ford Educational Excellence Committee

Dr. Kathie Harned TN State Parliamentarian, Bylaws and Rules Committee

Pam Heintzman Special Events Committee

Pat Parker Achievement Award Committee (Chair)

Beth Petty State Projects Committee

Kathleen Phillips Achievement Award Committee

Brenda Oldham Finance Committee, Scholarships Committee

Beta Upsilon Members that Served on an International Committee

Dr. Kathie Harned, Marsha Brewer, International Educational Excellence Committee (Present)

Order of the Rose Recipients

Aliene Fann 2009, Brenda Oldham 2010, Fran Young 2011 Pat Parker 2012, Frances Casey 2013, Marie Wiggins 2014 Carolyn Dowlen 2016, Carlene Ford 2019, Kathleen Phillips 2020 Kathy Fasig 2021, Barbara Broadway 2022, Bethany Billingsley 2023

Golden Gift Leadership

Kathie Harned 2012, Marsha Brewer 2016

TNSO Achievement Award

Kathie Harned 2020

Beta Upsilon Recipients of Distinctive Service Award

1982 Mary Grandstaff* Education, 1985 Ruth Chambliss* Education, 1987 Mary Ann Ennis* Education 1987 Norma Calhoun Community, 1988 Roxie Cassidy* Education, 1994 Dr. Carol Hutson Education 1995 Andres Conte Community, 1997 Nila Sherrill* Education, 1997 Vicki Yates Community 1998 Pam Bucy* Education, 1999 Margaret Hodges* Education, 1999 Jo Ann North Community 2002 Marie Wiggins Education, 2004 Nancy Snapp Education, 2004 Dr. Carolyn Baldwin Tucker Community

2004 Betty Richards Community, 2005 Teresa Dennis Community, 2005 Kathy Nevill Community 2005 Lana Seivers Community, 2006 Beverly Smith Education, 2007 Brenda Oldham Education 2008 Kathleen Phillips Education, 2009 Barbara Broadway Education, 2010 Carolyn Dowlen Community

2014 Comp Pulse Education 2012 Pulse Pilliands Education 2012 Known Education

2011 Susan Dalton Education, 2012 Bethany Billingsley Education, 2013 Karen Flowers Education

2013 Carlene Ford Community, 2014 Marsha Brewer Education, 2014 Carol Belles Community

2016 Kathy Fasig Education, 2016 Dorris Walker Community, 2017 Julie Travis Education

2018 Bethany Billingsley Community(all chapters), 2018 Rebecca Pearson Education,

2019 Beth Petty Education, 2020 Pat Parker Education, 2022 Teresa Agee, 2023 Pam Heintzman, Education

*Deceased