Lambda Chapter



Bradley & Polk County, Tennessee

Founded April 19, 1941 Miss Mary Mackinlay, Organizer

Charter Members

Mrs. Lou Finnell Beauty	Mrs. Georgia Blackburn	
Mrs. Grace Carroll	Mrs. Mary Ruth C. Conner	
Dr. Zoe Cowan	Miss Ruth Frazier	
Miss Annette Hilliard	Mrs. Johnnie M. Mille	
Mrs. Hazel W. Newman	Mrs. Afton Stewart	
Mrs. Vera Stone	Mrs. Katharine L. Trewhitt	

Our Lambda Chapter history

On April 19, Lambda Chapter, Xi State, was organized in Cleveland, TN. The initiation and installation was held at the Cherokee Hotel. Miss Mary Mackinlay, a State Founder and member of Alpha Chapter, served as organizer. Present also were members of Alpha Chapter, Chattanooga, and Dr. Mildred Dawson, Professor at U.T. and State President of Delta Kappa Gamma at the time.

Dr. Dawson had been teaching extension classes in Cleveland and had visited and observed in the classrooms of those teachers she recommended for membership. The charter members were selected from Bradley County Schools, Cleveland City Schools, and Bob Jones College, which was then located in Cleveland.

The initiation was followed by an election of officers with Miss Ruth Frazier from Oak Ridge Schools, being elected our first Lambda President.

Lambda Chapter Past Presidents

Ruth Frazier	1941-1943	Nancy Reiser	1982-1984
Hazel Newman	1941-1944	Ann Guthrie Martin	1984-1986
Rosa Bailey	1947-1949	Wanda Melton	1986-1988
Mattie Belle Ross	1949-1951	Brenda Carder	1988-1990
Annette Hilliard	1951-1954	Nancy Reiser	1990-1992
Grace Wattenbarger	1954-1956	Jeanette Schleager	1992-1994
Mary Hooper	1956-1958	Carolyn Earnest	1994-1996
Grace Carroll	1958-1960	Betty Dunn	1996-1998
Laura Smith	1960-1962	Jo Plemons	1998-2000
Bessie Gray	1962-1964	Nancy Frey	2000-2002
Lucille Walker	1964-1965	Sheila Presswood	2002-2004
Georgia Blackburn	1965-1966	Carolyn Earnest	2004-2006
Francine Buchanan	1966-1968	Lynn Cline	2006-2008
Flora Hardwick	1968-1970	Wanda Ackerman	2008-2010
Lois Beach	1970-1972	Kim Foxworth	2010-2012
Adrienne Emond	1972-1974	Melanie Johnson	2012-2014
Corrine Hyberger	1974-1976	Wilma Jean Pippenger	2014-2016

Helen Tullock	1976-1978	Sherry Shroyer	2016-2018
Ann Guthrie	1978-1980	Julie Mitchell	2018-2020
Nancy Davis	1980-1982	Lara McTaggart	2020-2022

Lambda Chapter Tradition

Lambda Chapter has named the Katherine L. Trewhitt Scholarship in honor of one of our founding members. To date, we have given away over \$25,000 in scholarships to local high school seniors pursuing degrees in education.