Beta Lambda Chapter

Date of Charter: April 22, 1978

Charter Members

Lucille Ankers **Edity Bailey** Lola Bell Miriam Bowman Lucille Burtram Helen Byrd Nancy Cheatam V. Joyce Collom Helen Conway Noveal Crosthwaite Susan Dillon Dana Gamble Jo Anne Hayes Maureen Hodges M. Pheribol Hughes **Betty King** Jeanne Kring **JoBelle Masters Bobbie Ruth Mee** Flory Oran E. Faye Robinson Alberta Ross Sarah Suttle Shirley Tucker Mildren Wade **Donna Williams Bertha Williams**

Original Location of Chapter

*Crossville (Cumberland County) *Harriman (Roane County) *Teachers from both counties were members.

Honors or awards received

??

Chapter scholarships or grants

??

Members served on International/State committees or offices

Krystal Kennedy (EEC)

	Biennium
Miriam Bowman	1978-1980
Shirley Tucker	1980-1982
Mildred Wade	1982-1984
Helen Conway	1984-1986
Floy Oran	1986-1988
Ruby Hedgecoth	1988-1990
Diane Parvin	1990-1992
Judy Eldridge	1992-1994
Betty Maynard	1994-1996
Rebecca Wood	1996-1998
Cynthia Webb	1998-2000
Leigh Jones	2000-2002
Ruby Hernandez	2002-2004
Julia Kelley	2004-2006
Kaye Blakeley	2006-2008
Bonnie Ashburn	2008-2020
Ina Maxwell	2020-2012
Ashlee Watts	2012-2014
Vicki Mackzum	2014-2016
Krystal Kennedy	2016-2018
Bridgette Cox	2018-2020
Tammy Stewart	2020-2022
Donna King	2022-2024

Beta Lambda Chapter Presidents



Beta Lambda Chapter History

The Beta Lambda Chapter of DKG International celebrated its 35th anniversary at the November 2013 meeting which was held at Homestead Elementary School. A highlight of the evening was the attendance of one of the chapter's founding members and past presidents, Shirley Tucker. Other former presidents who attended the festivities were Diane Parvin, Judy Eldridge, Ina Maxwell, Bonnie Ashburn, and Cynthia Webb.

Mrs. Tucker, who was teaching at the "old" Cumberland County High School at the time, recalled that before Beta Lambda was chartered, the local teachers attended meetings and programs with a chapter in Harriman, Tennessee. Finally, on April 22, 1978, Beta Lambda was chartered and officially became one of the 60-plus chapters in the state of Tennessee. Mrs. Tucker was the second president of Beta Lambda in 1980-'82.

Beta Lambda's President at the time of the celebration was Ashlee Ritzko Watts, who gave a brief history of the chapter and introduced six additional past presidents who were in attend: Diane Parvin, Judy Eldridge, Cynthia Webb, Kaye Blakeley, Bonnie Ashburn, and Ina Maxwell.

State President Beverly Smith also attended the celebration and reminded the members of the importance of the society—one which honors educators, supports legislation to improve the education system, mentors early career educators, provides scholarships, networking and leadership development opportunities.

The evening ended with the distribution of pecans which members were selling to raise money for their local scholarship project.

Beta Lambda has always had a rich history of community service projects. In April, 1972, the chapter donated \$1,000 to the Cumberland County Art Circle Public Library construction campaign fund. And, the chapter continues to sell pecans each year to raise money for college scholarships.

Revised March 26, 2023