

History of Alpha Sigma Chapter of the Tennessee State Organization of Delta Kappa Gamma Society



Chapter Charter

Alpha Sigma Chartered: February 11, 1961 in Memphis, Shelby County, Tennessee by Chapter Organizers: Epsilon, Alpha Lambda

Charter Members

Angela Aste Dorotha Gordon Eleanor Osteen
Margaret Caso Nadine Hicks Mary K. Putnam
Louise Crawford Frances Marks Mary Welsh
Dorothy Dean Billye Morris Frances Wild

Chapter Presidents & Terms

Dorothy Dean1961 - 1964	Annie Wilkins1992 – 1994
Eleanor Osteen1964 - 1966	Sue Mason1994 - 1996
Frances Wild1966 - 1967	Rhetta Watkins1996 – 1998
Ethel Thompson1968 - 1969	Joyce Keohane1998 – 2000
Cora Rowe1969 - 1970	June Reasons2000 – 2002
Sara Folis1970 – 1972	Ginny Hays2002 – 2004
Angela Aste1972 – 1974	Betty Only2004 – 2006
Ada Strong1974 – 1976	Lee Lindsay2006 – 2008
Nancy Poore1976 – 1978	Pat Spencer2008 – 2010
Margaret Cason1978 – 1980	Emily Johnson2010 – 2012
Ruth Carrier1980 – 1982	Trish Stephenson2012 – 2014
Joan Nichols1982 – 1984	Laura Evans2014 – 2018
Pat Jeffries1984 – 1986	Deborah McDurmon 2018 – 2020
Myra Vinson1986 – 1988	Sonja Glaser2020 - 2024
Judith Martin1988 – 1990	Martha Baker/Laura Evans2024 – 2026
Betty Only1990 – 1992	

TN State Individual Honors & Awards

Achievement Award: Betty Sue Only 2008; Eleanor Osteen 1980

Beginning State Leadership Seminar: Laura Evans 2022; Brenda West 2016;

Deborah McDurmon 2016

Leadership Development Seminar: Betty Sue Only 1992

Advanced Leadership Development Seminar: Betty Sue Only 1997

Leadership Management Seminar: Emily Johnson 2012

Order of the Rose: Betty Sue Only 2002

TN State Chapter Honors & Awards

Maycie Award for Chapter Excellence – Gold 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018-19, 2023, 2024; **Silver** 2018, 2020, 2021, 2022

Website/Social Media Award – Highest Honors 2016, 2017, 2018, 2021, 2023

Chapter Yearbook – Highest Honors 2015, 2016, 2021, 2022

Newsletter and Print Publicity – Honors 2018; Honorable Mention 2017, 2021

Appreciation for Silent Auction – 2019, 2022, 2023

State Legislative Award – 2019

Chapter Level Strategic Action Plan – 2019

Marketing Award – Highest Honor 2023

Communications Award – Honors 2024

Connection Award – 2023

Recognition of a Legacy of Leaders (61 years) – 2023

Member Educ. Video Completions 2023 – Kelly Beach, Becky Cross, Sonja Glaser, Deborah McDurmon, Trish Stephenson, Alice Winburn

Grant Recipients

Rhetta Watkins – XI State Recipient, 1985, \$3000

Catherine Pentecost – Alpha Sigma Chapter Grant Recipient, 2021, \$250, ,for a Reading Workshop focused on dyslexia.

Members Who Served on State/International Committees or Offices

Laura Evans: State Expansion Committee 2015-2017

Tennessee State Director Area IX 2019-2021

State Chapter Strengthening Committee 2019-2021

State Personnel Committee 2017-2019, 2019-2021

Special Events Committee 2021-2023

State Leadership Development Committee 2021-2023



Sonja Glaser: State Expansion Committee 2017-2019

State Legislative Committee 2021-2023

Area X State Director 2023-2025

Deborah McDurmon: Area IX State Director 2021-2023

State Chapter Strengthening Committee 2021-2023

Eleanor Osteen: XI State President 1967-1969

State Parliamentarian 1972-1973

Betty Only: TN State Membership Committee 1991-1993

State Nominations Committee 1993-1995, 1995-1997 (Chair), 2015-2017

XI State 2nd Vice President 1999-2001

TN State Area XI Director 2001-2003

State Personnel Committee Chairman 2003-2005

State Legislative Symposium 2003-2011

State Convention Committee 2005-2007

State Finance Committee 2007-2009

State Historical Preservation Committee 2009-2011, 2011-2013

International Convention Steering Committee 2016

State Achievement Award Committee 2017-2019

Numerous State, Regional, & International Conventions

June Reasons: Personnel Committee 2009-2011

Finance Committee 2017-2019

Trish Stephenson: XI State Legislative Committee 2011-2013, 2015-2017(Chair)

State Education Excellence Committee 2017- 2019

State Bylaws & Rules Committee 2019-2021

State Constitution and Bylaws 2020-2021

State Membership Committee 2021-2023

Brenda West: State Membership Committee 2015-2017

Stories/Events Unique to Alpha Sigma

Game Day is an annual event Alpha Sigma has been hosting since 2005 (except for 2020 and 2021 during the Covid lockdown). We invite members of other local DKG chapters and members of the community at large to join us in this fundraiser which benefits Brinkley Heights Urban Academy, a private, Christian, inner-city school that serves a little more than 100 impoverished and at-risk students in pre-K through 12th grade. Our supporters bring cards, boards games, dominoes, etc., and enjoy table snacks, lunch, warm fellowship, and door prizes in appreciation for their donations. All contributions we collect go directly to Brinkley Heights. In recent years we have been able to raise roughly \$2,000 each year for BHUA due to the generosity of our Game Day supporters.