BETA KAPPA CHAPTER HISTORY

Beta Kappa Chapter was organized on April 24, 1976, after Miss Mary Hall, state founder, recognized the need to divide the ever-growing Phi Chapter, which was composed of Giles, Lawrence, Lincoln and Marshall counties of Tennessee. The newly formed Beta Kappa Chapter was composed of Lincoln and Marshall counties while Phi Chapter retained Giles and Lawrence counties. In 1976, Beta Kappa chapter had forty charter members with Mrs. Erline Patrick chosen as the first chapter president.

Several Beta Kappa members have served on state committees throughout the years and four members have been selected as Order of the Rose recipients: Erline Patrick, Martha Wolf, Joie Burgess, and Teresa Brown. Beta Kappa members continue to represent both Marshall and Lincoln counties and meeting locations rotate between the two adjoining counties for everyone's convenience. Meetings today are a little more casual than in 1976, and the use of email, social media, and even sometimes virtual meetings by the chapter take place. Over the years, Beta Kappa has earned distinctions as a Maycie Award Chapter and earned highest honors in several of the TN DKG categories. Beta Kappa currently has a smaller number of members than when the chapter began, but the excellence and dedication shown by the members continues to be a strong part of the chapter. Throughout the decades, Beta Kappa members have given of their talents and time to help others and to promote education. Today members are strong supporters of the Imagination Library, local teacher mini-grants and donations of supplies for middle and high schools.

Beta Kappa Past Chapter Presidents:

Erline Patrick	1976-1978	Ginger Hardison	2000-2002
Margaret Jordan	1978-1980	Diane Kendrick	2002-2004
Mary Conger	1980-1982	Carolyn Bingham	2004-2006
Mary James Wallace	1982-1984	Suzette Pike	2006-2008
Delane Holland	1984-1986	Cecelia Johnson	2008-2010
Joie Burgess	1986-1988	Carol Grant	2010-2012
Martha Wolf	1986-1988	Meri Bigham	2012-2014
Betty Burgess	1990-1992	Helen Lowe	2014-2016
Rebecca Hambrick	1992-1994	Carla Caldwell	2016-2020
Benita Villines	1994-1996	Teresa Brown	2018-2022
Emily Gordon	1996-1998	Cecelia Johnson	2020-2022
Teresa Brown	1998-2000	Meri Bigham	2022-2024