Gamma Zeta History

Gamma Zeta was organized on October 12, 1991 in Decatur, Tennessee. The Charter Members were Iva Shields (1965), Phyllis Bryant (1971), Trudy Templeton (1973), Nancy Mercer (1975), and Anna Jean Roberts (1977). These ladies were all part of Alpha Chapter before starting Gamma Zeta.

These ladies were the charter members initiated in 1991: Jane Bowers, Joanne Ewing, Barbara Millaway, Shirley Jennings, Claudia Bivens, Joyce Woods, Mary Evelyn Perkinson, Billie Sue McKenzie, Patricia Hunt, Rebecca Burnette, Janice Jolley, Betty Lynn Thompson, Sara Dycus, Patty Harris, Jane Roberts, Kay Ledford, and Cheryl Roberts.

Past Presidents and Current President for Gamma Zeta

Anna Jean Roberts (91-92), Rebecca Burnette (92-94), Jane Bowers (94-96), Mary Evelyn Perkinson (96-98), Cheryl Roberts (98-2000), Janice Jolley (00-02), Betty Mason (02-04), Cindy Mills (04-06), Shelia Yarborough (06-08), Sue Parsons (08-10), Joan Glasser (10-12), Amanda Pritchett (12-14), Cynthia O'Daniel (14-16, Joan Glasser (16-18), Debbie Humphreys (18-20), Amanda Pritchett (20-22), Missy Posey (22-24)

Recipients of Order of the Rose

Mary Evelyn Perkinson 1998, Janice Jolley 2004, Shelia Yarborough 2011, Trudy Templeton 2015, Debbie Humphreys 2022

Gamma Zeta Members Currently Serving TN State Organization

Amanda Pritchett is Area 3 Director and is serving on the Chapter Strengthening Committee.

Gamma Zeta Members with State/International Honors

Betty Mason Vision Grant 2013

Leigh Clark & Monica Ward Liz Whorley Bradley Professional Growth

Award 2012

Mary Evelyn Perkinson Xi State Achievement Award 2011

International Miracle Maker 2012
Xi State Recording Secretary 09-11
Xi State Corresponding Secretary 05-07

Xi State Gold Visionary 2008

DKG Golden Gift Leadership, Austin TX 2006 Maycie K. Southall Scholarship (State) 2000

Area 3 Director 1999-2001

Leadership Development Committee

Co-Chair 07-09

Leadership Committee Member 03-05 Expansion Committee Member 01-03

Nominations Committee 17-19

Amanda Pritchett Area 3 Director 2009-2011, 22-24

Isbell Wheeler Scholarship (State) 2011

International Scholarship 2011

Janice Jolley Nominations Committee 2005

Visual & Performing Arts Committee 2013-15

Advanced Leadership 2001

Carolyn Earnest Area Director

Personnel Committee
Rules Committee
Achievement Award

World Fellowship State Committee

Joy Lamb & Crystal Johnson Vision Grant 2022

Gamma Zeta currently gives 4-5 \$300 grants to actively teaching members per school year. Gamma Zeta sponsors the TN State Essay contest each year with essays from Meigs County High School. Gamma Zeta gives to the following causes each year: Education Award Fund, Emergency Fund, Golden Gift, International, Scholarship Fund, DKG Educational Foundation, Tennessee Vision Foundation, Tennessee State Scholarship, Tennessee State Silent Auction, Schools for Africa/UNICEF, and Meigs Imagination Library. Our chapter meets 4-5 times per school year with teachers from each of our four schools hosting a different meeting. In 2022-2023, Gamma Zeta has 31 active members and 2 reserve members.