Alpha Gamma Chapter History

Composed of members in Macon, Smith, and Trousdale Counties Lafayette, TN

Organized May 19, 1951

Macon, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, and Wilson Counties

- Expanded 1964: Beta Alpha Wilson County
- Expanded 1978: Beta Xi Sumner County

Alpha Gamma Chapter Charter Members

Mrs. Lena Harsh -Sumner County	Mrs. Gerroll Hargis- Macon County
Mrs. Eliza Birdwell -Sumner County	Mrs. Margaret England -Sumner County
Mrs. Annette Hutton -Sumner County	Mrs. Nell Ferrell Harris -Wilson County
Miss Beulah Thomas- Wilson County	Miss Gladys Deakins -Wilson County
Miss Berta Ferrell -Wilson County	Mrs. Annette Beasley -Wilson County
Mrs. Helen Persons -Sumner County	Mrs. Wilma Alexander -Wilson County

Alpha Gamma Chapter Past Presidents

Mrs. Nell Harris	1951-1954	Mrs. Annette Cothron	1986-1988
Mrs. Margaret England	1954-1956	Miss Carolyn O'Neal	1988-1990
Miss Susie E. Cardwell	1956-1958	Mrs. GeorgiaAnn Boles	1990-1992
Miss Beulah Thomas	1958-1960	Mrs. Rita Meador	1992-1994
Miss Louise Wilburn	1960-1962	Mrs. Mel Perdue	1994-1996
Miss Gladys Deakins	1962-1964	Mrs. Cynthia Hudson	1996-1998
Mrs. Bernice Hendricks	1964-1966	Mrs. Wynona Clayborne	1998-2000
Mrs. Marion Casady	1966-1968	Mrs. Patricia Hansen	2000-2002
Mrs. Edwina Oldham	1968-1970	Mrs.GeorgiaAnn Boles	2002-2004
Mrs. Lucy Rutledge	1970-1972	Mrs. Nancey Greer	2004-2006
Mrs. Sarah Prather	1972-1974	Mrs. Marylin Roberts	2006-2008
Mrs. Nancy Campbell	1974-1976	Mrs. Sandra Smith	2008-2012
Mrs. Love Webber	1976-1978	Mrs. Linda McCrary	2012-2014
Mrs. Linda McCrary	1978-1980	Mrs. Wynona Clayborne	2014-2018
Mrs. Margaret Cook	1980-1982	Mrs. Andrea Flynn	2018-2022
Mrs. Irma G. Paschall	1982-1984	Mrs. Nicole Blankenship	2022-Present
Mrs. Betty Yancey	1984-1986		

Alpha Gamma Chapter Order of the Rose Recipients

1988- Linda McCrary	1998- Betty Yancey
1990- Margaret Cook	2007- GeorgiaAnn Boles
1993- Era Wilson	2014- Wynona Clayborne
1994- Marion Casady	2015- Cynthia Hudson
1995- Annette Cothron	2017- Carolyn Winn
1996- Mel Perdue	2024 - Teresa Gregory

TN STATE VISION FOUNDATION GRANTS

LIZ W. BRADLEY PROFESSIONAL GROWTH AWARD RECIPIENTS

2004 Robbie Trent (Alpha Gamma)
Society for Developmental Education
National Kindergarten Conference

VISION FOUNDATION GRANT RECIPIENTS

2004 Robbie Trent (Alpha Gamma) M & M (Math Manipulatives)

2009 Andrea Flynn (Alpha Gamma)

<u>Technology to Go for Kindergarten</u>

Alpha Gamma Grant-in-Aid Recipients

1978 Mary Lisa Rickman 2008 Bethany Hudson 1980 Martha Lucille Risher Amy Spears 1981 Susan Kirby Sarah Barber 1982 Suzanne Ruedge 2009 Natalie Bonham 1983 Rhonda Birdwell **Allison Summers** 1984 Lucy Dickens Britany McDonald 1985 Lee Ann Steen 2010 Jill Barber 1986 Virginia Brockett Jennifer Carter 1987 Dawn Brawner Towns Loren Farley 1988 Tracy D. Fisher Jessica Reeves 1989 Jennifer Ford 2011 Sara Belton 1990 Erica Delanie Taylor Courtney Cox 1991 Angela Rich 2012 Morgan Burgener 1992 Regina Kingery Lindsey Dozier 1993 Tanya Smith 2013 Alyssa Tuck 1994 Victoria Hamilton Connor Murphy 1995 Jenny Roark 2014 Hanah Hughes 1996 Lori Morgan Jenna Dziekiewicz 1997 Cindy Evans 2015 Ryan Ann Cothron 1998 Kim Kemp Demisa Bohanan 1999 Bridgett Phillips 2016 Jordan Shockley 2000 Michelle Bush Hannah Smith 2001 Lori West 2017 Jenna Russell 2002 Jennifer Summers Abigail Tuck 2018 Marlayna Wheeler 2003 Kasey Craig 2004 Amy Clayborne Maggie Wooten 2005 Kayla Carr Cayley Tuck 2019 Gracie Andrews Lorie Owen 2006 Rebecca Carter Alexis Faith Jones Amanda Gregory 2020 Keely Tuck Kim Wakefield Hailey Woodard

2007 Tonya Kemp Dixie Kvatek 2021 Jayden Powell

Kaitlyn Driver

2022 Morgan Carter Keelie Tucker Mary Ellen Copass 2023 Tabitha Lister Jordan Noles Claire Fleming 2024 Michaela Brawner Cadence Carter LeAnn Davis Brooke Presley Alpha Gamma raises funds for the Grant-In-Aid Scholarships available for ladies graduating from high school or who are already in college pursuing a degree in education. The chapter has its annual Pecan Sale every September for this purpose. The chapter also uses funds from its annual Daddy Daughter Dance to provide more scholarships for educators in training.

Alpha Gamma hosts a "New Teacher Reception" at their September meeting to welcome new teachers to the area. The chapter shares information about Delta Kappa Gamma, gives words of encouragement, and lets them know that our members support these new teachers. The new teachers also leave with a gift.

Members on International/State Committees

Wynona Clayborne - TNSO Membership Linda McCrary - TNSO Bylaws and Rule, Chair Linda McCrary - Treasurer for the US Forum Teresa Gregory - TNSO Special Events Committee Nicole Blankenship - TNSO Historical Preservation Committee

Linday McCrary served on the Board of Trustees for the International Educational Foundation from 2004 to 2012 and chaired the Foundation from 2010 to 2012.

Linda McCrary served as SE Regional Director from 1996 – 1998. During that time, she also served on the International Administrative Board.

Linda McCrary served on the US Forum Steering Committee from 1990 to 1994 and chaired it from 1994 to 1996.

Tennessee Past President from Alpha Gamma Chapter

Mrs. Linda McCrary 1993-1995

ı