Beta Sigma Chapter History

Beta Sigma Chapter was installed June 17, 1981 to serve Fayette and Hardeman Counties.

Cherryl Graham was the first president, her term was 1981-1983. The charter members were: Deborah Avis, Tennie Zue Armour, Betty Billingsley, Wanza Boswell, Rosalyn Browder, Carolyn Cary, Pauline Craft, Oma Dixon, Winifred Dobbins, Mary Louise Dodds, Margaret Donnell, Elta Dorris, Inez Duncan, Charline Durrett, Sara Emerson, Anne Glass, Cherryl Violet Jacobs, Elizabeth Ann Johnson, Willie Margaret Johnson, July Kee, Frances Leach, Betty Middlecoff, Marie Middlecoff, Connie Morris, Dorothy Morton, Jane Powell, Mary Ellen Richardson, Ann Russell, Birdie Mac Sanders, Virginia Shea, Carline Vandergrift, Jeanne Waller, Bernice Wardlow, Katherine Wardlow, and Arline Whaley.

Original chapter location (County)

Omega Chapter was organized November 18, 1950. The original chapter served Fayette, Hardeman, Hardin and McNairy counties for many years. Chapter meetings were always scheduled for Saturdays, due to the needed travel time. Some members traveled over an hour to attend meetings. Giving up a Saturday once a month became an issue for active teachers. When Omega Chapter's membership started increasing, the decision was made to reorganize the Omega Chapter. One result was the forming of Beta Sigma Chapter which serves Fayette and Hardeman Counties. The new charter was installed June 17, 1981.

Chapter residents and Presidents Terms

Patricia Stevens 1982-1984; Betty Middlecoff 1984-1986; Carline Vandergrift 1986-1988; Sara Emerson 1988-1990; Marie Middlecoff 1990-1992; Dorrie Powell 1992-1994; Rebecca Nelson 1994-1996; Valeria Weatherly 1996-1998; Rose Marie Johnson 1998-2000; Ann Wiles 2000-2002, Dorrie Powell 2002-2004; Rachel Weir 2004-2006; Rebecca Hobbs 2006-2008; Nita Scott 2008-2010; Rachel Weir 2010-2012; Jessica Mitchell 2012-2014; Terri Tims 2014-2016; Betsy Lucas 2016-2018; Angela Galloway 2018-22019; Nikki Davis 2019-2022; Rachel Weir 2022-2024.

Honors or Awards received:

Golden Gift Seminar: Dr. Dorrie Powell

Scholarship and study stipend Recipients: Dr. Dorrie Powell, Cathy Black, and Terri Tims

TNSO Achievement Award Winner: Dr. Dorrie Powell

Order of the Rose: Rose Marie Johnson and Betty Middlecoff

Chapter Scholarship or Grants

New Teacher Classroom Grant

Members served on International and TNSO committee:

<u>Dorrie Powell</u>: TNSO Chapter Strengthening Committee Chair, TNSO President, TNSO By-Laws and Rules Committee, TNSO Recording Secretary, TNSO Second Vice-President, TNSO First Vice-President, TNSO Educational Excellence Committee Chair, TNSO Editor Committee.

Cathy Black: TNSO Arts and Personal Enrichment Committee

Angela Galloway: TNSO Arts and Personal Enrichment Committee 2015-2017 Arts and Personal Enrichment Committee Chair 2017-2019

<u>Terri Tims:</u> TNSO Arts and Personal Enrichment Committee, TNSO Legislation Committee

<u>Rachel Weir:</u> TNSO Nominations Committee, TNSO Special Events Committee 2015-2017 and 2022-2024, TNSO Area IX Director