Alpha Xi Chapter of Tennessee State Organization of DKG

Alpha Xi Chapter was organized on January 12, 1957 by Mrs. Sara M. Lewis of Alpha Chapter in Chattanooga, Hamilton County. Charter members were Mrs. Myrtle Dye, Mrs. Vesta England, Mrs. Helen Farley, Mrs. Claire Fletcher, Mrs. Robinette Harrison, Mrs. Hasseltine Hurst, Miss Janie Sue Massey, Mrs. Inez McConnell, Mrs. Mary Katherine Pace, Mrs. Dorothy Peck, Mrs. Julia Ruth Richardson, Mrs. Julie Schmitt, Mrs. Jewel Rudicil, and Mrs. Adena Varner.

Past chapter presidents are as follows:

Mrs. Hasseltine Hurst 1958 – 1960	Mrs. Inez McConnell 1960 - 1962
Mrs. Jewel Rudicil 1962 – 1964	Miss Janie Sue Massey 1964 – 1966
Miss Jo Pritchett 1966 – 1968	Mrs. Julia Schmitt 1968 – 1970
Mrs. Mary K. Pace 1970 – 1972	Mrs. Vesta England 1972 – 1974
Mrs. Mildred Chapman 1974 – 1976	Mrs. Mary A. Lowe 1976 – 1978
Mrs. Jo Alford 1978 – 1980	Mrs. Nancy Henry 1980 – 1982
Mrs. Maxine Williams 1982 – 1984	Mrs. Judy Leach 1984 – 1986
Mrs. Eloise Litz 1986 – 1988	Mrs. Dorothy Peck 1988 – 1990
Mrs. Betty Hughes 1990 – 1992	Mrs. Marguerite Santich 1992 - 1994
Mrs. Julie Hughes 1994 – 1996	Mrs. Peggy Wright 1996 – 1998
Mrs. Harriett Harris 1998 – 2000	Mrs. Judy Leach 2000 – 2002
Mrs. SuzAnne Deacon 2002 – 2004	Mrs. Donna Lamkin 2004 – 20006
Miss Karen Phillips 2006 – 2008	Mrs. Nancy Bibler 2008 – 2010
Mrs. Jeanette Esch 2010 – 2012	Mrs. Gail Huffstutler 2012 – 2014
Mrs. Deana James 2014 – 2016	Ms. Beverly Smith 2016 – 2018
Mrs. Jeanie McKenna 2018 – 2020	Mrs. Kim Thurman 2020 – 2022
Mrs. Pam Thompson 2022 – 2024	

Alpha Xi has received the Chapter Excellence/Maycie Award at the Gold and Silver levels for many years. The chapter has also received the Communication and Legislative Awards many times. Sixteen members have received the Order of the Rose, formerly the Spotlight Award. They are Eloise Litz, Nancy Henry, Ernestine Eldridge, Maxine Williams, Mildred Chapman, Harriett Harris, Julie Hughes, Liz Morton, Peggy Wright, Rose Dover, Jean Pracht, Suzanne Rushworth, Judy Leach, Donna Lamkin, Karen Phillips, and Jeanette Burkhart-Esch. Alpha Xi is a Visionary Chapter with the Vision Foundation.

Julie Hughes, Suzanne Rushworth, and Kim Thurman have received state scholarships. The chapter provides a grant-in-aid to high school seniors or college students who pursue a career in teaching.

Many chapter members have served on or chaired state committees over the years. Maxine Williams has been an Area III Director, chaired the High School Essay Committee for four years, was Leadership Development co-chair, chaired Membership, Personal Growth and Services, Rules, Nominations, Concerns, as state 2^{nd} Vice President was in charge of two state conventions, and chaired the Environmental Committee at the International Convention in Nashville. Julie Hughes served on Educational Excellence and was the Music Committee Chair from 2013 to 2015. Donna Lamkin chaired the U.S. Forum and served on Educational Excellence. Karen Phillips has served on Finance, Leadership Development, World Fellowships, and chaired the Legislative Committee. Kim Thurman co-chaired both the State Projects and Special Events Committees as well as serving on the Educational Excellence Committee. Nancy Bibler served on Educational Excellence and Legislative. Anna Harrington served on Membership. Norma Cate was a member of State Projects. Pam Thompson has served on the Legislative Committee for several years. Jeanie McKenna served on the Awards Committee. Esther Clark served on Leadership Development. Wendy Morgan and Gail Huffstutler served on Membership. Jeanette Esch has served on the Visual and Performing Arts Committee several times. Our member, Beverly Smith, has been the most active at the state and international levels. Beverly has been Area V Director, 2nd Vice President, Recording Secretary, 1st Vice President, and Tennessee State President. She has chaired Membership, Chapter Strengthening, Achievement Award, Program of Work, and Expansion Committees. She has served on the International Educational Excellence Committee for two years, chaired it for two, and participated in the Golden Gift Seminar. Many of our deceased members were also active at the state and international levels. Ernestine Eldridge was the pianist and Janie Sue Massey played the harp for several state and regional conferences and served on the Music Committee. Eloise Litz chaired the Music Committee and was a speaker at the Southeast Regional Conference in New Orleans. Harriett Harris served on the Achievement Award and Legislative Committees. Dorothy Peck chaired the Personal Growth and Services Committee.