### **Gamma Mu History**

# Gamma Mu of DKG Chapter Organized 2003 Johnson County, Tennessee Charter Members

Marilyn Brown - (yom 2000)

Vida Bunting - (yom 1975)

Teresa Cunningham - (yom 2000)

Nancy Davis - (yom 1988)

Daphne Greene - (yom 2002)

Barbara Henson - (yom 1986)

Bridgette Henson - (yom 2001)

Terri Henson - (yom 2002)

Beverly McKinney - (yom 1998)

Teresa Mullen - (yom 1997)

Jennifer Painter - (yom 1996)

Dianna Pennington - (yom 1993)

Donna Poteet - (vom 2001)

Brenda Potter - (yom 1989)

Rose Rasmussen - (yom 1995)

Carol Stout - (yom 1984)

Andy Wright - (yom 1999)

\*\*All charter members were initiated into Alpha Alpha Chapter, Bristol,

TN. The date indicates the year of membership.

#### Gamma Mu of DKG CHAPTER PAST PRESIDENTS

Nancy Davis 2003-2004 Donna Poteet 2006-2008 Carol Stout 2008-2010 Beverly McKinney 2012-2014

Nancy Davis 2016-2020

Carol Stout 2004-2006 Vida Bunting 2008 Andy Wright 2010-2012 Sheila Cruse 2014-2016

Teresa Mullen -Brenda Potter 2020-2024

## Honors or Awards Received TN State Achievement Award

Nancy Davis, 2011

#### Gamma Mu of DKG Chapter – Order of the Rose Recipients

Order of the Rose
Nancy Davis, 2001
Carol Stout, 2003
Diana Pennington, 2004
Brenda Potter, 2005
Barbara Henson2006
Vida Bunting 2007
Teresa Mullen
Leni Smith 2021
Gay Miller 2022

### Gamma Mu of DKG Chapter Members Currently Serving TN State Organization

Nancy Davis EEC Committee, Music Representative, Chair of Vision Foundation Teresa Mullen, Brenda Potter--State Scholarship Committee

### Gamma Mu Members Serving on International Level

Nancy Davis Chair of Finance Committee

### **Gamma Mu of DKG Chapter Grants or Awards**

Annual Grant in Aid for New Teachers

Each year Gamma Mu of DKG honors a second or third year teacher with a Grant in Aid. New teachers must submit an essay giving details as to a project they wish to implement in their classrooms. The projects are judged and the winner receives funding for the project.

### Gamma Mu of DKG Grant In Aid Recipient Date Recipient

2021 Nathan Jones
 2020 Jennifer Holt
 2019 Laura Baird
 2018 Heather Savery
 2022 Katarina Finney

New Teacher Scholarship
New Teacher Scholarship

#### Good Neighbor Award

The Good Neighbor Award Program has been a hit ever since first suggested by Sheila. Each year middle school teachers select five students as good neighbors. These students

are honored for consistently demonstrating the qualities we want in our neighbors: compassion, kindness, and generosity. Each received a framed certificate to honor their exemplary neighborly qualities, a personalized copy of Shel Silverstein's classic book, "The Giving Tree" and a goody bag filled with items donated by local businesses. These students have their photo along with a write-up in "The Tomahawk", our local newspaper.

Gamma Mu of DKG Good Neighbor Awaed Winners 2021-2022 Katie Timbs Landon Searless Jackson Clifton Charity Weaver Gunnar Hutchins Payton Grizzle Noah McQueen