

Organized March 19, 1982: LaFollette, TN

Charter Members

CHARTER MEMBERS (Initiated March 19, 1982)

Anne E. Beeler *
Louis A. Carroll *

Margaret E. Faulkner *

Fay B. Finley *
Kay S. Hill *

Judy L. Lively *

Nina Sue McNew

ivilla Sue ivicivew

Brenda Sue Miller

Linda F. Mundy *

Helen S. Renfroe*

Freda Rogers *

Kim Seal

Joyce B. Mears #

Martha Wells

Sandra L. Williams Hatmaker *

Carolyn M. Woodward *

*Resigned

Transferred to Alpha Theta Chapter

CHARTER MEMBERS (Transferred from Alpha Theta Chapter)

Mary Ollie Andrews Carolyn Cox Mary Ann Kenik Nancy R. Leach Jane Ann McFarland Eunice Reynolds

On March 19, 1982, twenty-two women educators from Campbell and Claiborne counties met at First Baptist Church in LaFollette to organize the Beta Phi Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. This new chapter expanded from Alpha Theta Chapter and met under the guidance of Margaret Balint, Anna Fugate, Nora Ellison, Edna Brown, and Eunice Bailey (members of Alpha Theta Executive Committee). Meetings rotated between Campbell and Claiborne County locations.

Beta Phi Chapter hosted the Area II Workshop in 1994. Many members of Beta Phi have served on state committees and have welcomed many interesting and informative speakers to chapter meetings.

Beta Phi Chapter began this with a continued commitment to the Society Purposes, community service, and to furthering the goals of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. Beta Phi members are enthusiastic and will do their best to fulfill the responsibilities, policies, and programs of work of the society.



1982-1984	Eunice Reynolds
1984-1986	Joyce Mears
1986-1988	Margaret Faulkner
1988-1990	Carolyn Cox
1990-1992	Mary Ann Kenik
1992-1994	Mary Ann Kenik

1994-1996 Teresa R. Bowman

1996-1998 Martha Wells

1998-2000 Nancy Leach*

2000-2002 Nila S. McNew

2002-2004 Pam Jefferies

2004-2006 Freda Branam

2006-2008 Janice Craig

2008-2010 Melissa Edwards

2010-2012 Vickie Huddleston

2012-2014 Elaine Wilburn

2014-2016 Dixie Crouch

2016-2018 Sharon Schmitt-Matzen

2018-2020 Vickie Huddleston & Mary Sue Matlock

2020-2022 Lisa Lovely

2022-2024 Kristi Hargis

*deceased

Awards and Recognitions Star of the Southeast- Nancy Leach 2008

Past Beta Phi Spotlights' Recipient-Carolyn H. Cox 1989

Gold Visionary Chapter

Gold Visionary Donor- Carolyn Cox

Past Beta Phi Order of the Rose Recipients (2000 – Present):

- Nancy Leach 2001
- Mary Ollie Andrews 2006
- Martha Wells 2007
- Mary Ann Kenik 2011
- Nila McNew 2013
- Freda Branam 2016
- Pam Jefferies 2017
- Sara Perkins 2021 Honorable Mention Rosebud Award

Past Beta Phi TN (Xi) State Area II Directors

- Nancy Leach
- Mary Ann Kenik
- Freda Branam
- Pam Jefferies
- Carolyn Cox

Past Beta Phi TN (Xi) State Committee Members

• Freda Branam-CIEC

Literacy Committee

Arts and Personal Growth

• Carolyn Cox- Awards Committee-2017-2019

Scholarship Committee – 2019-2021

High School Essay Committee

Scholarship Committe

Legislative Committee

• Pam Jefferies -Special Event Committee (Chairperson) 2015-2017 State Organization Projects Committee 2017-2019 • Mary Ann Kenik-Rules Committee

Page, International Convention, Nashville 2016

- Lisa Lovely-Awards Committee 2020-2022
- Sharon Schmitt-Matzen Educational Excellence Committee 2019-2021
- Martha Wells-Silent Auction Committee

Other Beta Phi Recognitions

- Carolyn Cox-Maycie K. Southhall Scholarship
- Janice Craig-Liz Whorley Bradley Professional Growth Award
- Nancy Leach-Xi State Corresponding Secretary, 2001-2003
- Martha Wells-Louise Oakley Scholarship
- Freda Branam-Vision Foundation Award-2017

Doris Ann Hendrix Project Grant 2017

- Carolyn Cox- Communications for International Convention, Nashville, 1994
 Page, International Convention, Nashville 2016
- Kristi Hargis- Vision Foundation Grant 2024

Other awards

Gold award (Maycie Award)

Silver award (Maycie Award)

Apple Awards

Highest Honors for Yearbook

Connection Award

Communications and Marketing Award: Carolyn Cox, Vickie Huddleston, Kristi Hargis, Lisa Lovely, Sandra Daugherty, Dr. Billie Jo Ralston

Current State Committee Members (2023-2025)

Carolyn Cox-Area IV Director Lisa Lovely-Historical Preservation Sharon Schmitt-Matzen-Special Events Pam Jefferies-Special Events Kristi Hargis-Educational Excellence