Alpha Gamma Chapter History

Composed of members in Macon, Smith, and Trousdale Counties Lafayette, TN

Organized May 19, 1951

Macon, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, and Wilson Counties

- Expanded 1964: Beta Alpha Wilson County
- Expanded 1978: Beta Xi Sumner County

Alpha Gamma Chapter Charter Members

Mrs. Lena Harsh -Sumner County
Mrs. Eliza Birdwell -Sumner County
Mrs. Annette Hutton -Sumner County
Mrs. Annette Hutton -Sumner County
Miss Beulah Thomas- Wilson County
Miss Berta Ferrell -Wilson County
Mrs. Helen Persons -Sumner County
Mrs. Wilma Alexander -Wilson County

Alpha Gamma Chapter Past Presidents

Mrs. Nell Harris	1951-1954	Mrs. Annette Cothron 1986-1988
Mrs. Margaret England	1954-1956	Miss Carolyn O'Neal 1988-1990
Miss Susie E. Cardwell	1956-1958	Mrs. GeorgiaAnn Boles 1990-1992
Miss Beulah Thomas	1958-1960	Mrs. Rita Meador 1992-1994
Miss Louise Wilburn	1960-1962	Mrs. Mel Perdue 1994-1996
Miss Gladys Deakins	1962-1964	Mrs. Cynthia Hudson 1996-1998
Mrs. Bernice Hendricks	1964-1966	Mrs. Wynona Clayborne 1998-2000
Mrs. Marion Casady	1966-1968	Mrs. Patricia Hansen 2000-2002
Mrs. Edwina Oldham	1968-1970	Mrs.GeorgiaAnn Boles 2002-2004
Mrs. Lucy Rutledge	1970-1972	Mrs. Nancey Greer 2004-2006
Mrs. Sarah Prather	1972-1974	Mrs. Marylin Roberts 2006-2008
Mrs. Nancy Campbell	1974-1976	Mrs. Sandra Smith 2008-2012
Mrs. Love Webber	1976-1978	Mrs. Linda McCrary 2012-2014
Mrs. Linda McCrary	1978-1980	Mrs. Wynona Clayborne 2014-2018
Mrs. Margaret Cook	1980-1982	Mrs. Andrea Flynn 2018-2022
Mrs. Irma G. Paschall	1982-1984	Mrs. Nicole Blankenship 2022-Present
Mrs. Betty Yancey	1984-1986	

Alpha Gamma Chapter Order of the Rose Recipients

1988- Linda McCrary	1998- Betty Yancey
1990- Margaret Cook	2007- GeorgiaAnn Boles
1993- Era Wilson	2014- Wynona Clayborne
1994- Marion Casady	2015- Cynthia Hudson
1995- Annette Cothron	2017- Carolyn Winn
1996- Mel Perdue	

TN STATE VISION FOUNDATION GRANTS

LIZ W. BRADLEY PROFESSIONAL GROWTH AWARD RECIPIENTS

2004 Robbie Trent (Alpha Gamma)
Society for Developmental Education

National Kindergarten Conference

VISION FOUNDATION GRANT RECIPIENTS

2004 Robbie Trent (Alpha Gamma)

<u>M & M (Math Manipulatives)</u>

2001 Lori West

2009 Andrea Flynn (Alpha Gamma)

<u>Technology to Go for Kindergarten</u>

Alpha Gamma Grant-in-Aid Recipients

2017 Jenna Russell

1978 Mary Lisa Rickman
2008 Bethany Hudson
1980 Martha Lucille Risher
Amy Spears

1980 Martha Lucille RisherAmy Spears1981 Susan KirbySarah Barber

1981 Susan Kiroy Sarah Barber 1982 Suzanne Rutledge 2009 Natalie Bonham

1983 Rhonda Birdwell Allison Summers

1984 Lucy Dickens Britany McDonald

1985 Lee Ann Steen2010 Jill Barber1986 Virginia BrockettJennifer Carter

1987 Dawn Brawner Towns Loren Farley

1988 Tracy D. FisherJessica Reeves1989 Jennifer Ford2011 Sara Belton

1990 Erica Delanie Taylor Courtney Cox

1991 Angela Rich 2012 Morgan Burgener

1992 Regina Kingery Lindsey Dozier
1993 Tanya Smith 2013 Alyssa Tuck

1994 Victoria Hamilton Connor Murphy 1995 Jenny Roark 2014 Hanah Hughes

1996 Lori Morgan Jenna Dziekiewicz

1997 Cindy Evans 2015 Ryan Ann Cothron

1998 Kim KempDemisa Bohanan1999 Bridgett Phillips2016 Jordan Shockley

2000 Michelle Bush Hannah Smith

2002 Jennifer Summers Abigail Tuck

2003 Kasey Craig 2018 Marlayna Wheeler

2004 Amy Clayborne Maggie Wooten

2005 Kayla Carr Cayley Tuck
Lorie Owen 2019 Gracie Andrews

2006 Rebecca Carter Alexis Faith Jones

Amanda Gregory 2020 Keely Tuck Kim Wakefield Hailey Woodard 2007 Tonya Kemp 2021 Jayden Powell

Dixie Kvatek Kaitlyn Driver

Alpha Gamma raises funds for the Grant-In-Aid Scholarships that are available for ladies graduating from high school or that are already in college pursuing a degree in education. The chapter has their annual Pecan Sale every September for this purpose. The chapter also uses funds from their annual Daddy Daughter Dance to provide more scholarships for educators in training.

Alpha Gamma hosts a "New Teacher Reception" at their September meeting to welcome new teachers to the area. The chapter shares information about Delta Kappa Gamma, gives words of encouragement, and lets them know that our members support these new teachers. The new teachers also leave with a gift.

Members on International/State Committees

Wynona Clayborne - Area V/Chapter Strengthening Membership Linda McCrary - Finance Committee, Chair Linda McCrary - Treasurer for the US Forum

Linday McCrary served on the Board of Trustees for the International Educational Foundation from 2004 to 2012 and chaired the Foundation from 2010 to 2012.

Linda McCrary served as SE Regional Director from 1996 – 1998. During that time, she also served on the International Administrative Board.

Linda McCrary served on the US Forum Steering Committee from 1990 to 1994 and chaired it from 1994 to 1996.

Tennessee Past President from Alpha Gamma Chapter

Mrs. Linda McCrary 1993-1995

I