## Pi Chapter

Organized June 5, 1943 \*Knoxville, Tennessee

Charter Members Greta Beets Margaret King Carolyn Bowling Alma Lowance Ida Gamble Frances McMaughton Carrie Lou Goddard Kathleen Pressley Frances Grubb Virginia Rogers Elizabeth Holt Leola Sharp Virginia Holt Irene Wallace Dora Humphrey Rubye Wallace

(All charter members are deceased.)

\*Installation may have occurred in Knoxville, TN but Pi Chapter has always met in Clinton, TN, Anderson County.

According to Pi Chapter lore, it was a cold, snowy day in the winter of 1943 when Lucille Hill, Anderson County Supervisor of Elementary Education, went to Shinliver Elementary School where she met with Elizabeth and Virginia Holt, Vera Hightower, Irene Wallace, and perhaps others about the possibility of forming an Anderson County chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. She found them in the school cafeteria making candy to send to soldiers overseas fighting the battles of World War II.

Mrs. Hill had been contacted by Dr. Mildred Dawson of the University of Tennessee, who was working on the expansion of East Tennessee chapters under the direction of Dr. Maycie K. Southall, Xi State's (now the Tennessee State Organization) first President, 1935-38, and the fourth International President, 1938-40. Dr. Dawson installed Pi Chapter on June 5, 1943.

Pi Chapter Past Presidents

Irene Wallace\* 1943-45 Georgianna Bowling 1986-88 Dena Ellis\* 1945-47 Joyce Beets 1988-90 Reba Gentry\* 1947-49 Marion Mariner\* 1990-92 Virginia Holt\* 1949-51 Vera Jo Henegar\* 1992-94 Rubye Wallace\* 1951-53 Diane Alsop 1994-96 Pearl Hendren\* 1953-54 Pat Hamilton Aldridge 1996-98 Grace Margrave\* 1954-56 Sally Jackson 1998-00 Margaret Anderson\* 1956-58 Kathy McGrew 2000-02 Vera Hightower\* 1958-60 Paula Campbell 2002-04 Bessie Wallace\* 1960-62 Kathy Hurst 2004-06 Josephine Rosenbalm\* 1962-64 Chris Simons 2006-08 Marion Cline\* 1964-66 Vera Jo Henegar\* 2008-10 Irene Wallace\* 1966-68 Ann Gann 2010-12 Margaret King\* 1968-70 Kelly 2012-14 Williams/Kathy McGrew Anna Lane\* 1970-72 Della (Deckie) Conley 2014-16 Irene Wallace\* 1972-74 Rhonda A. Phillips 2016-18 Vera Jo Henegar\* 1974-76 Ann Gann 2018-20 Vera Jo Henegar\* 1976-78 Vikki Burns/Abbi Hill 2020-22 Mary Ruth Cook 1978-80 Rita Hackler 1980-82 Marion Mariner\* 1982-84 Linda Tackett\* 1984-86 \*deceased

# HONORS OR AWARDS MEMBERS:

<u>Spotlights</u>

Hazel McCreary, 1991

#### Order of the Rose

Rita Hackler, 2000 Pat Hamilton Aldridge, 2001 Anna Mae Lane, 2005 Katherine Hurst, 2007 Paula Campbell, 2013 Kathleen Benedict, 2015 Ann Gann, 2019 Diane Alsop, 2020 Rhonda A. Phillips, 2021

Pi Chapter Rosebud Recipients - Abbi Hill, 2022

Achievement Winner - Vera Jo Henegar, 1997

Order of the Iris. - Vera Jo Henegar, 2012

Visionary, (Vision Foundation) - Vera Jo Henegar, 2012; Ann Gann, 2021, Pi Chapter

## HONORS OR AWARDS CHAPTER:

Maycie Chapter Excellence Award – Gold - 2010-2022 (? +more) Yearbook Award - highest – 2010-2022 (?+more) Newsletter/Website – highest -2010-2022 (?+more) Legislation – participation -2010-2022 (?+more) Silent Auction- participation -2010-2022 (?+more) Strategic Action Plan - participation **Chapter Scholarships or grants** 

Marion Mariner received a grant from the state to attend a conference, maybe in the late 80's or early 90's.

Lori Collins received scholarship/grant in 1995 (?) for her masters.

Vera Jo Henegar received a scholarship from state for a Masters, but it was before 1987

Abbi Hill – Maycie Southhall \$6,000 from International & Mary Hall \$3,000 from TNSO 2023

### International/State Committees or Offices

### **TNSO Offices:**

Vera Jo Henegar – President, 2001-03; 2nd Vice President 1985-87; Recording Secretary 1983-85

Ann Gann, Recording Secretary, 2017-19; Corresponding Secretary, 2019-2021

#### **TNSO Committees**

Diane Alsop – Communications and Publicity Committee, 2020-2021; Membership Committee, 2022-2023

Abbi Hill - Awards Committee, 2021-23

Vikki Burns - Awards Committee, 2021-23

Pat Hamilton Aldridge – Communications, 1989 – 91; Special Events, 1993 – 95; Special Events Chair, 1995 – 97; Membership, 1999 – 2001; Membership Chair, 2001 – 03; Awards, 2013 – 15; State Projects 2015 -17; Chapter Strengthening 2017 – 19; EEC 2019 – 21; Awards 2021 – 23.

Kathleen Benedict – Finance, 2017-19; Finance Chair, 2019-2021; By-laws & Rules, Co Chair, 2021-23

Ann Gann – Membership, 2011-13; Area 2 Director, 2013-15; EEC, 2015-17; Co Chair of Bylaws and Rules and member of Nominations; 2021-23

Pat Stonecipher - State Planning/Steering, 2010-12, 2012-2014

Vera Jo Henegar – Xi State Representative to the United Nation Chair of the "Schools for Africa" International project. Chairman, Ad Hoc Committee to Plan the Xi State 75th Anniversary, 2007-2010 Chairman, Personnel Committee, 2005-2007 Member, Xi State Vision Foundation Board of Directors, 2003-2005 Member, Xi State Personnel Committee, 2003-2005 Immediate Past State President, 2003-2005 XI State Steering Committee for the 2000 SE Regional Conference 1999-2001 Registrar for SE Regional Conference 2001 Award Committee Chairman 1999-2001 Area II Director 1995-99 XI State Steering Committee for the International Convention 1993-94 Leadership Development Committee 1993-95 Research Committee Chairman 1991-93 Area Workshops Traveling Team 1994, 1990, 1988 Membership Committee Chairman 1989-91 **Expansion Committee Chairman 1987-89** Leadership Development Committee 1985-87 **Expansion Committee 1983-85** 

# International

Vera Jo Henegar –

Insurance Committee, Chairman, 2006-2008 Leadership Development Committee, 2004-2006 Program of Work Committee, 2002-2004 Research Committee Chairman, 2002-2004 World Fellowship Committee 2000-2002 Ad Hoc Committee of U.S. Forum 1987