Alpha Rho Chapter History

Alpha Rho Chapter of Tennessee State Organization was organized in Centerville, Tennessee on May 16, 1959, by Miss Elizabeth Voss. The chapter is comprised of members from Hickman, Lewis, Perry, and Wayne Counties.

Charter Members: Connie Breece; Eunice Brown; Mary Fields; Eva Fielder; Flora Harvill; Lucile Horner; Helen Karns; Frankie Kelly; Ethel McWilliams; Cora Moore; Emma Nicks; and Amy Weatherspoon.

Past Chapter Presidents: *Mrs. Cora Moore (1959-1962); *Miss Flora Harvill (1961-1966); *Mrs. Helen Karmes (1966-1968); *Mrs. Pauline DePriest (1968-1970); Mrs. Maurine Allen (1970-1972); Mrs. Bessie Smith (1972-1974); Miss Barbara Hinson (1974-1978); *Mrs. Martha Brown (1978-1980); *Mrs. Eva Smith Luttrell (1980-1982); *Mrs. Sara Breeding (1980-1984); *Mrs. Mary Beth Shannon (1984-1986); *Mrs. Martha Brown (1986-1988); Mrs. Dean Stegall (1988-1990); *Mrs. Linda Fesmire (1990-1992); Mrs. Glenda Hayes (1992-1994); Miss Wilma York (1994-1996); Mrs. Sarah Alice Jones (1996-1998); Miss Barbara Hinson (1988-2000); *Mrs. Helen Ary (2000-2002); Mrs. Diana Womble (2002-2004); Mrs. Dean Stegall (2004-2006); Mrs. Orlean Bauman (2006-2008); Mrs. Shirley Dark (2008-2010); Dr. Beverly Hall-Maughan (2010-2014); Mrs. Jamie Lawson (2014-2018); Mrs. Chasity Ragsdale (2018-2020); Mrs. Myra Martin (2020-2022).

Achievement Award Recipients: Dr. Beverly Hall-Maughan (2022); Mrs. Orlean Bauman (2019); Miss Barbara Hinson (2003).

Order of the Rose Recipients: Mrs. Shirley Dark (2021); Mrs. Judy McDonald (2020); Mrs. Diana Womble (2019); Miss Wilma York (2018); Miss Frankie Mitchell (2017); and Mrs. Dean Stegall (2010).

Rosebud Recipients: Mrs. Chasity Ragsdale (2020).

State Officers and Related Personnel: Mrs. Orlean Bauman, Second Vice President (2021-2023), Editor (2011-2021); Mrs. Chasity Ragsdale, Recording Secretary (2021-2023); Dr. Beverly Hall-Maughan President (2019-2021), First Vice President (2017-2019), Recording Secretary (2015-2017); and Miss Barbara Hinson Second Vice President (1983-1985), Treasurer (1985-1987).

Special Events: Alpha Rho Chapter celebrated 50 years in a ceremony held in Waynesboro, Tennessee, in May 2009. Special recognition was given to charter member Eva Fielder who was visited by Membership Chair Judy McDonald, Chapter President Shirley Dark; Immediate Past State President Elaine Warwick (Rho), and Past State President Linda McCrary (Alpha Gamma). In June 2009, Alpha Rho became a Visionary Chapter of the Xi State Vision Foundation. Alpha Rho Chapter held a 60-year celebration in Lewis County on May 19, 2019, with special guests including the Tennessee State President Dr. Elaine Alexander (Beta Epsilon); Tennessee State Treasurer Nancy Davis (Gamma Mu); and Area VI Director, Lynn Caruthers (Phi). On May 9, 2022, Alpha Rho Chapter honored Barbara Hinson with 50 years of membership by performing a skit titled *Greetings from the Grave* and presenting her with a 50-year membership pin at the 86th Tennessee State Convention.