The History of Gamma Omicron Chapter

The Gamma Omicron Chapter was originally established as the Beta Chi Chapter on April 9, 1983. The Charter Members of this chapter included Hester Marie Allen (Eta), Paula Balthrop (Eta), Sara Caudill (Alpha Chi), Judith Corvin (Eta), Marie Crow (Eta), Buena Daniel (Eta), Sara Dickson (Eta), Elizabeth Dunn (Eta), Mary Fortner (Eta), Sherrill Hooper (Alpha Chi), Bessie Larkins (Eta), Gloria Logan (Eta), Billie Northcut (Eta), Margaret Powers (Alpha Chi), Billie Richardson (Eta), Roberta Robinson (Eta), Ouida Skelton (Eta), Dena Sullivan (Alpha Chi), LeVerne Turner (Eta), Alberta Youree (Eta), and Frances Yusk (Alpha Chi). The Beta Chi Chapter served the counties of Humphreys, Houston, and Dickson. In the early 2000s, members from the Humphreys and Houston Counties expressed the desire to form a separate chapter. Following this transition, Beta Chi retained its charter, and in 2004, a total of 23 members from Dickson and Humphreys remained as Beta Chi Chapter. This reorganization led to increased involvement in state-level activities and functions. The chapter began to accumulate the Maycie Awards and consistently improved its performance each year. Our participation included engaging in silent auctions, attending conventions, securing positions on state committees, and sending representatives to Leadership Conferences.

In 2012, the Beta Chi chapter was restructured, leading to the removal of its original name and the issuance of a new name and charter by the International organization. The chapter was renamed Gamma Omicron, and our charter members included: Ernestine Adams, Emily Blackburn*, Carol Chandler, Sandra Cook ,Myra Corbitt, Helen Costa, Polly Cross*, Buena Daniel*, Cheryl Edgin, Jackie Elston, Connie England, Mary Fortner*,Marvene Fultz, Pam Harris, Ethel Hatcher*, Amanda Himes, Michelle Hooper, Patricia Hudson, Tiffany Jacoby, Malissa Johnson, Harriet King, Judy Long, Gail McClung*, Emily McCollum, Vivian McCord, Billie Northcut*, Donna Rigdon, Liz Sanders, Carla Sensing, Winnie Smith, Carolyn Williamson, and Kathy Wortham. Our past presidents are as follows: Emily McCollum (2012-2016), Harriet King (2016-2022), and Amanda Himes (2020-2024). For the biennium 2024-2026, we elected two presidents, Myra Corbitt and Helen Costa. We later inducted Emily Chambers as an honorary member of the chapter. Our chapter continues to serve the Dickson and Humphreys Counties and has 12 active and 1 honorary member. Community engagement is a fundamental priority for our chapter. Annually, we contribute donations and supplies to the Humphreys County Humane Society and the Dickson County Help Center. In addition, we proudly offer a \$300 scholarship each year to a graduating senior from one of the county's high schools who is pursuing a degree in education. We have recognized new teachers by giving a gift card to one from each county. Additionally, we have delivered goodie baskets to each of the 20 to 25 schools and administration offices in both counties. Members Carol Gardner and Harriet King have received a \$1,000 grant for our educational institutions. Carol utilized this funding to acquire hands-on medical supplies and equipment that will enhance the learning experience for her nursing students at McEwen High School. Meanwhile, Harriet developed a sensory therapy room at Charlotte Elementary School and provided sensory equipment to support the students at New Direction Academy.

This year, we are proud to launch the "Feed the Pig" fundraiser for the chapter scholarship and grants, such as the Sherrill Hooper Memorial Scholarship. During each meeting, members are encouraged to make contributions to our little green piggy bank. To date, we have successfully raised nearly \$200. Despite being a small chapter in terms of membership, we remain very active. We have received honors at all levels of the Maycie Award and the Communication Awards. Furthermore, several of our members have been honored as Order of the Rose recipients: Helen Costa, Harriet King, Myra Corbitt, Pam Harris, and Jackie Elston. We are also pleased to announce our nominee for the 2025 Order of the Rose: Ernestine Adams. Additionally, Harriet King has played a vital role on multiple state committees and currently serves as the chair of the Related Arts and Personal Growth Committee, showcasing her commitment to our organization's mission and growth.

Our primary goals are to grow our membership and implement society guided focus during meetings to enhance positive energy among our members for activities and relationships. Also, by fostering a sense of community, we can ensure that everyone feels valued and empowered to contribute. Together, we will achieve success and strengthen our bonds.