Alpha Epsilon Chapter History

Alpha Epsilon Chapter's home is in Oak Ridge. The United States government secretly built the city in 1942. During a time when many cities were destroyed by war, Oak Ridge was created because of war. The schools were established in 1943 by the United States Army to educate children of the workers building and operating the Manhattan Project facilities.

Alpha Epsilon was organized by Xi State President Helen Zuccarello and sixteen members on February 4, 1953. These "Key Women Educators" brought with them talents and gifts as seen, respectively. The charter members were Alice Edwards (parenting), Addie Eggleston (state history and focus), Sarah Ketron (courage and vision), Bertha Nichols (love of the outdoors), Ruth Frazier (graciousness), Ruth Hurt (dedication), Lois Buckner (laughter), Ruth Winton (legislative endeavors), Dorris Diseker (family), Mildred Diseker (music), Ruth Benson (intellectual challenge), Ruth Reagor (leadership), Adele Rivers (preservation and art), Margaret Barnes (community involvement), Bess Dillon (friendship and flowers), and Margaret Wait (volunteering).

Chapter President's Terms:

Alice Edwards 1953-55; Addie Eggleston 1955-56; Sarah Ketron 1956-58; Ruth Reagor 1958-60; Ruth Hurt 1960-62; Ruth Frazier 1962-64; Margaret Bise 1964-66; Bertha Nichols 1966-68; Georgia Lee Bradford1968-70; Ruth Winton 1970-72; Margaret Gottshall 1972-74; Jane Powell (Grossbeck) 1974-76; Carolyn Cagle 1976-78; Edna McNutt 1980-82; Mary Jane Williams 1982-84; Betty Galloway 1984-86; Ida Lou Stevens 1986-88; Betty Jernigan 1988-90; Margaret Gottshall 1990-92; Martha Lewis 1992-94, 1994-96; Alma Golden & Bonnie Hedrick 1996-98; Jo Ann King & Alma Van Hull 1998-20; Marsha Anderson & Pearl Goins 2000-02; Melissa (Missy) McCallen 2002-04; Bonnie Hedrick & Mary Jane Williams 2004-06, 2006-08; Mary Fell & Melanie Harless 2008-10; Sandy Christen & Twinkle Tindall 2010-12, 2012-14; Elaine Vaughan & Diana Homan 2014-16; Kay Moss & Elaine Vaughan 2016-18; Kay Moss & Amber Roberts 2018-20; Karla Mullins & Amber Roberts 2020-22; Karla Mullins & Melissa Blalock 2022-24.

RECIPIENTS of TENNESSEE STATE ORGANIZATION SCHOLARSHIPS 1954 Lois Buckner 1960 Peggy Van Bever Rubel 1974 Benita Albert 1981 Shirley Holt/Hale 2011 Elaine Vaughan

RECIPIENTS OF INTERNATIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS 2011 Elaine Vaughan

RECIPIENT OF VISION FOUNDATION GRANT 2015 and 2018 Elaine Vaughan 2022 Kris Light RECIPIENT OF DKG CORNETET AWARD

2022 Elaine Vaughan

RECIPIENTS OF ORDER OF THE ROSE

2009 Mary Jane Williams 2012 Peggy Rubel 2016 Kay Moss

CHAPTER SCHOLARSHIPS OR GRANTS FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR

STUDIES 1981 Shirley Holt/Hale 1982 Michael Murphy

1983 Jackie Adamson 1984 Virginia Susan Wells

1985 Madeline Taylor 1987 Sonya Smith

1988 Janet Young 1990 Debbie Samuels

1991 Joan Marie Freels 1992 Julie Burttram

1994 Natasha Miller 1995 Beth Forquer

1996 Michelle Rodems 1997-2002 Trinity Becham

2004-2009 Liane Aldridge 2011-12 Destiny McAdams

2013-16 Lacy Smith 2017 Taylor Wilkens

2018-2021 Carrie Melton 2022 Chasity Donald

MEMBERS WHO HAVE SERVED ON STATE COMMITTEES OR OFFICES

2010 – 14 Twinkle Tindall Steering Committee

2011 – 15 Elaine Vaughan Special Events Committee (Chair 2013 – 15)

2013 – 15 Diana Homan Special Events Committee

2015 – 17 Elaine Vaughan Chair of Vision Foundation

2015 – 17 Diana Homan By-Laws & Rules Chair

2017 – 19 Elaine Vaughan Corresponding Secretary

2019 – 21 Elaine Vaughan First Vice-President

2019 – 21 Elaine Vaughan Chair of Educational Excellence Committee

MEMBERS SERVING ON TENNESSEE STATE ORGANIZATION COMMITTEES 2021 -23

Melissa Blalock Educational Excellence Committee

Darlene Johnson Educational Excellence Committee

Kay Moss Area 2 Director and Legislative Committee Co-Chair

Amber Roberts Legislative Committee

Karla Mullins Legislative Committee

Elisabeth Denisar State Projects

CURRENTLY SERVING AS STATE PRESIDENT 2021-2023

Elaine Vaughan Theme: "From the Heart"