Gamma Alpha's Chapter History

Gamma Alpha was founded on November 15, 1985 in Paris, Tennessee. Originally a part of Kappa (Benton and Henry Counties) Chapter, Gamma Alpha is now the only Chapter in Carroll County. The Charter Members were: Rosemary Allen, Catherine Argo, Betty Bouldin, Glenda Boyd, Betsy Brinkley, Barbara Bucy, Angie Bunn, Ann Conquest, Diana Crawford, Paulette Crews, Jane Cuthbertson, Barbara Garnett, Joann Hickman, Bettie Hill, Geneva Johnson, Charlene Jones, Diane Mahan, Shirley Martin,, Jenny May, Patsy Nelson, Carol Odom, Rebecca Page, Frances Pate, Demetra Perkins, Peggy Perritt, Linda Smith, Tuva Stephens, Ann Taddie, Mary M. Tomlin, Maurine Richardson, Lynn Whitfield, Kay Wimberly, and Patricia G. Witty

Past Presidents of Gamma Alpha and their terms are

Carol Odom 1985-1988, Angie Bunn 1988-1990, Jenny May 1990-1992, Brooke Hodges 1992-1994 Tonye Petway 1994-1996, Kay Bishop 1996-1998, Paulette Crews 1998-2000, Mary Mays 2000-2002, Dodie Parker 2002-2004, Deborah Barger 2004-2006, Dr. Dianne Anderson 2006-2010, Tonye Petway 2010-2011, Janice Truett 2011-2014, Jean Hollomon 2014-2016, Ladona Herrin 2016-2020, and Dr. Dianne Anderson 2020-2024

Gamma Alpha is pleased to have received the Maycie Chapter Excellence Award for the past 11 years. We started with Honorable Mention but now we are receiving the Gold Award.

We love to welcome our new teachers with a banquet in September or October every year.

Currently, Dr. Dianne Anderson serves at the TnSO State Treasurer and Dorethea Royle is on the EEC Committee.