# Beta Omega Chapter History – Weakley County

The Beta Omega Chapter was founded in 1984 with the assistance of Isabell Wheeler. They were originally members of Alpha Eta which included Lake, Obion, and Weakley Counties.

## **Charter Members**

Louise Alexander, Christine Batts, \*Mary Elizabeth Bell, Carol Brann. Rebecca Brigance, Grace Wilson Bruce, Betty Cannon, Mildred Chandler, June Childs, Nancy Clements, Kathleen Elder, Mamie Ennie, Mary Ida Flowers, Felice Freeman, \*Martha Freeman, Barbara Gallien, \*Gail Smith, Mary Agness Thompson, Linda Hearn, Paula Morris, Helen Moubray, Rebecca Neilsen, Patricia Page, Mary Evelyn Pentecost, Anne Pope, Annie L. Phillips, \*Wanda Powell, Joan Pritchett, Lou Ella Ray, Martha Shanklin, Louise Stephenson, Farryce Turner, Mary Jean Usery, Virginia Vaughn \*Active

#### **Beta Omega Presidents**

Carol Brann 1984-1986, Becky Brigance 1986-1988, Mary Elizabeth Bell 1988-1990, Wanda Powell 1990-1992, Helen Moubray 1992-1994, Linda Hearn 1994-1998, Nancy Clements 1998-2000, Mary Ellen Stooksberry 2000-2002, Deborah Perkins 2002-2004, Carol Bowlin 2004-2006, Mary Jo Connell 2006-2008, Phyllis Brasher 2008-2010, Sandra Coleman 2010-2012, Peggy Finch 2012-2014, Phyllis Brasher 2014-2016, Mary Ellen Stooksberry 2016-2018, Kathy Stover 2018-2020, Sarah Beth Stooksberry 2020-2022, Mary Ellen Stooksberry 2022-2024, Patsye Jones and Sandra Coleman 2024-2026

#### **Honors and Awards**

Spotlights – Martha Shanklin 1991 and Rebecca Nielsen 1994

Order of the Rose - Wanda Powell 2008, Mary Elizabeth Bell 2009, Carol Brann 2010, and Linda Hearn 2011

State Essay Contest Winner - Carrie Hatchel 2018

#### **Grants and Scholarships**

Undergraduate Grant-In-Aid - University of Tennessee at Martin

Lee Ann Usery 1986, Francis Pilcher 1987, Michelle Milner Wade 1988, Patresa Rogers 1989, Tamara Wilson 1990, Lisa Black 1991, Shawna Smith 1992, Sammie Jo Gray 1993, Rubberta Dean 1994, Kimberly Burroughs 1995, Joy Eskew 1996, Heather Burns Kelly 1997, Marlena Maddox 1998, Mandy Essary 1999, Kelly Ayers Norton 2000, Brittany Bynum 2001, Angelique Jahr 2002, Becky Morris Scott 2003, Lana Bell 2004, Tara Newsom2005, Ashley Donoho 2006, Kristin Copeland 2007, Barbara Kundel 2009, Elisabeth Thompson 2013, Allie Baker 2023, and Erin Mallory 2023

# Graduate Grant-In-Aid - University of Tennessee at Martin

Whitney Hopper 2007, Michelle Medling 2008, Abby McClure 2014, Katie Coker Brewer 2019, Rebecca Beecham 2024

Scholarships

Amy Tuck 2011 and Suzie Newbill 2011

10 Classroom Grants

## **State Committees**

Peggy Finch – Chairman of Special Events Committee 2008-2010

Sandra Coleman – International Projects Committee 2011-2013

Patsye Jones Personal Growth Committee 2019-2020, Communications and Marketing Committee 2021-2023, and currently is serving on the Nominations and Awards Committees

#### Projects

In April 1989, Beta Omega founded the Children's International Education Center in Martin's C.E. Weldon Library. It now exists in the new Martin Public Library. Rebecca Nielsen was the C.I.E.C. Director, and members of the committee were Mary Elizabeth Bell, Judy Cleek, Martha Freeman, and Wanda Powell.

Beta Omega sends a deserving young person to the Key Leader Weekend event sponsored by the local *Kiwanis Club*.

We also support the local We Care Center which assists the needy in our community.